The dangerous beauties of Ithaca

Ithaca has some really beautiful streets (especially in the Fall Creek neighborhood). There is a special rule here that people are responsible for the piece of green that is cut off from their property by the sidewalk as well. So quite some people plant flowers there or even use it as a mini garden with tomatoes, salad and herbs.

It’s beautiful to walk there, although it’s hard to pass sometimes and in a few cases I actually felt intrusive – as if I was randomly walking into someone’s garden.

Like I mentioned in one of my first posts, there is a lot of water here. I am crossing one of the Creeks everyday on my way to campus. 

Sadly, people often understimate the gorges (dt.: Klamm/Schlucht). I was really shocked to read that one of the freshman students died in one of the gorges this weekend – a really, really sad story. 

Leave a Reply

